Who we are

This project is being led by Dame Fiona Reynolds DBE FBA (Cambridge) and Deborah Lamb (Historic England) and is being overseen by a project working group and the Academy’s Public Policy Committee.

Fiona Reynolds

Dame Fiona Reynolds DBE is Master of Emmanuel. Prior to this, she was Director-General of the National Trust 2001-2012. She was Director of the Women’s Unit in the Cabinet Office and was previously Director of the Council for the Protection of Rural England (now Campaign to Protect Rural England) and Secretary to the Council for National Parks. Fiona is a Non-Executive Director of the BBC and since December 2012 has been the Senior Independent Director of the Executive Board. She is also a Non-Executive Director of Wessex Water. Fiona was appointed CBE for services to the environment and conservation in 1998. Fiona was appointed DBE in 2008 and became an honorary Fellow of the British Academy in 2012.

Deborah Lamb

Deborah Lamb is Director of National Advice and Public Engagement at Historic England. She joined Historic England (formerly English Heritage) in 2002 from central government. Deborah’s responsibilities include getting other national organisations, including government, to recognise the value of England’s historic environment, raising public awareness of England’s heritage, and ensuring that Historic England’s decision-making is sound and transparent, as well as maintaining Historic England’s relationship with government. Before joining English Heritage, Deborah was Deputy Director of the Government’s Women and Equality Unit. Prior to that Deborah worked in the Department of the Environment.

The Working Group

John Davies (Nesta)
Clare Devine (CABE at Design Council)
Professor Danny Dorling (Oxford University)
Baljit Gill (Department for Communities and Local Government)
Nancy Hey (What Works Centre for Well-Being/Public Health England)
Professor Ron Johnston FBA (Bristol University)
Simon Maxwell (Department for Environment, Food & Rural Affairs)
Ewen McKinnon (Cabinet Office)
Professor Tim O’Riordan FBA (University of East Anglia)
Rick Van de Kerckhove (Defra) (Department for Environment, Food & Rural Affairs)
Professor Sir Alan Wilson FBA (UCL Centre for Advanced Spatial Analysis/GO Science Foresight Future of Cities)


Jamiesha Majevadia
Public Policy Adviser, British Academy